The College’s Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Committee, chaired by Thokozani Nkuna (Maintenance Supervisor) and vice-chaired by Rhandzane “Goody” Ndlhovu (Procurement and Main Store Controller), has made enormous strides in the past 18 months, ensuring a safe environment for all employees, students and all other stakeholders. This is not an easy task, given the sheer vastness of the College campus and when including the ancillary sites, the Ranger Training Camp, the K9 Unit and the Airwing support services hanger and offices. It is often a rather thankless job as it comprises a load of extra work. However, this team has taken on the additional responsibilities with enthusiasm and dedication.

The OSH committee meets monthly (more than legally required) to review safety audits conducted by the Safety Representatives, discuss any incidents that may have occurred, and to review OSH policies and procedures. The committee makes recommendations and investigates all incidents, big or small, that could potentially cause injury,  identify reasons for any incidents and recommend methods of prevention.

In addition, the teams ensure the provision of first aid and keep first aid boxes stocked, keep fire prevention or fire-fighting equipment in order, ensure bi-annual fire and evacuation drills, commit to monthly OSH audits, and ensure regular recorded inspections of first aid stations, boxes, and fire-fighting equipment. Their role is not only important, but also vital in terms of minimising any incidents and  the costs of our insurance.

During two sessions in 2019, Raneer Hoffman, and external OSH auditor, provided training to the College’s OSH team. The following training was successfully completed:

  • Health and Safety Representative
  • HIRA – Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment
  • Incident Investigator
  • Basic Fire Fighting
  • Evacuation Marshall
  • First Aid – Risk Based Primary Care
  • Basic Workplace Hygiene
  • HAZMAT – dealing with hazardous materials and chemicals

The team received a Gold Medal award for the College earlier in the year, and has continued to grow from strength to strength. The full OSH team is as follows:

First Aiders

  1. Surprise Seepane
  2. Michael Machavi
  3. Tshilidzi Ntsandeni
  4. Senziwe Morale
  5. Vivian Mnisi
  6. Precious Mathebula
  7. Malwandla Ngomane
  8. Amelia Makhubela
  9. Mariam Ngomane
  10. Louis Lubisi
  11. Pleasure Mathebula

Fire Team

  1. Thokozani Nkuna
  2. Michael Machavi
  3. Elvis Mkhonto
  4. Excellent Ubisi
  5. Surprise Seepane
  6. Ronald Mathebula
  7. Calvin Nyathi
  8. Class Masuku
  9. Willys Zitha

Incident Investigation

  1. Surprise Seepane
  2. Precious Mathebula
  3. Michael Gardiner
  4. Theodore Ngobeni
  5. Goodness Ndlhovu
  6. Ruth Mzimba
  7. Excelent Macabe
  8. Mercy Ntsandeni
  9. Thokozani Nkuna

First Responders/Emergency

  1. Thokozani Nkuna
  2. Willys Zitha
  3. Excellent Ubisi
  4. Ronald Mathebula
  5. John Makgoka