2023 African Conservation Awards

This year the College was privileged to host the annual African Conservation Awards, founded as the Rhino Conservation Awards in 2011. Initiated by Dr Larry Hansen and Miss Xiaoyang Yu, alongside the Game Rangers Association of Africa to recognise significant role plays involved in rhino conservation, the awards now also recognise conservation supporters working to save and protect other species and wild spaces as well.

Often facing physical danger and severe financial constraints, this selfless group of conservationists were recognised in 2023 with the support of sponsors CNEI, with the awards being endorsed by the Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment. 

Following the call for nominations, the following people and teams were announced as the winners for the African Conservation Awards on Saturday, 16 September at the Southern African Wildlife College:  

Best Field Ranger Winner: Nkateko Letti Mzimba, Sergeant of Black Mambas Unit, Olifants West Nature Reserve, South Africa 

1st Runner Up: Givemore Bako, Senior Ranger and Head Rhino Monitor, Savé Valley Conservancy, Zimbabwe 

2nd Runner Up: Reginah Smith, Corporal of the Rhino Protection Unit, Pilanesberg Game Reserve, South Africa 

Best Game Ranger 

Winner: Amos Gwema, Principle Investigation and Security Officer, Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority, Zimbabwe 

1st Runner Up: Petronella Chigumbura, Deputy Ranger Supervisor, Akashinga, Zimbabwe 

2nd Runner Up: Orlat Ndlovu, Head of Ranger Services, Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa 

Best Conservation Team 

Winner: Wildlife Action Group, Thuma Forest Reserve and the Dedza Salima Escarpment Forest Reserve, Malawi 

1st Runner Up: Majete Wildlife Reserve, Malawi 

2nd Runner Up: Zinave National Park, Mozambique 

Best Conservation Supporter 

Winner: Rhino Man, South Africa 

1st Runner Up: Joseph Serugo Ssalongo, Honorary Wildlife Officer, Uganda 

2nd Runner Up: African Pangolin Working Group, South Africa 

Conservation Awards Africa

For more information on the conservation awards:

Leave a Reply